 |
Low Rate eCommerce & Retail Plans
Click Here for
fast and easy setup |
|
|
WebProWorld Promotion Forum |
Where can I sell text links?
What are the most effective websites that offer to sell the ads on my website? Marketing Considerations for Multilingual Online Businesses
I recently talked to someone who was in the process of translating their current web site (which is now in English) into several additional languages so he could appeal... Marketing Learn to Fly & Career Pilot Seminars
I have two seminars that I market and the people that buy them really love them. I update them every month, buyers get free updates for life. The seminars are.... Do pixel sites offer any value to advertisiers?
Can any one offer any advice about pixel sites. I keep getting offered advertising on pixel sites but I'm not sure whether it offers any value.
Making an eBook I have a Word document that I needed made into an e-book, does anyone know a service that does this?
I don't mean just a PDF...
What is next step? Hi all,
I just started this site, for a month now. My question is what to do next for marketing and how to get a subscribers to my site.
Email marketing - email lists
I am looking into creating an email marketing
campaign and I have been looking around for
a good source of opt-in email addresses. There
seems to be...
|
|
|
|
| Recent
Articles |
What I Said
3:40 a.m. is an ungodly time to be answering questions fired at your through and earpiece while staring into the bright lights of a camera. Intrepid communicator that... Press Releases Get TrackBacks...
Press releases became a bit
more social yesterday as PRWeb added trackback
functionality. As Mike
Manuel notes, this news comes on the heels
of Six Apart's commitment to making the trackback...
Trackbacks and Press Releases
PRWeb officially announced the launch of their
support of trackback functionality with press
releases. While press releases have traditionally
been used to announce... Ask Sending Jeeves To Retirement
The oft-rumored removal of the iconic butler Jeeves from the Ask.com search engine has arrived, with the well-dressed embodiment of discreet and exemplary service contemplating his post-search engine life. Linking vs Traffic
Excellent post at WMW by user sugarrae on
the what is old and what is new about link
building. It's all about marketing, not
just getting links. Via TW
If you like that, then you'll definitely like...
|
|
|
|
|
03.14.06
Assertivenet Is Gigablast Spider (Gigabot) By
Adam Senour
The purpose of this article is to provide evidence and information to counteract the suggestion that Assertivenet is potentially used for malicious purposes.
Initial Research
On Saturday, March 11, 2006, I received a somewhat urgent telephone call from a client of mine, Hibiscus Florals. The owner, Mark Morkowski, was concerned because he had been reviewing his website traffic statistics and had noticed that at numerous points throughout the day, a user or spider from "ASSERTIVENET" (IP 66.154.103.125) had visited the Hibiscus website.
Since this was rather unusual, Mark elected to investigate further
by searching for more information "Assertivenet" via the Google
search engine. The first three results that he found appear
below:
From this information, Mark and I gathered that the owner of
the spider in question appears to be a company called Assertive
Networks, and hosted through a company called "BC Hosting."
More information wass not immediately available.
It is this lack of information that likely led some of the members of the PowerBASIC forums to block the IP range 66.154.* from accessing their various websites, and justifiably so. But this same lack of information led to additional questions:
1. What files was the Assertivenet spider accessing/trying to access? Was the spider crawling pages or, like some bots, was it looking for specific files that could be used for malicious purposes (e.g. files and scripts that could be manipulated for website attacks?)
2. Why is the apparent owner of the Assertivenet spider a web hosting company (BC Hosting)?
3. What is the intended purpose of the Assertivenet spider?
Additional Research - All Is Not As It Appears
At this point, I decided to look beyond what the website traffic statistics revealed, as well as the information that Mark's initial search revealed. I needed to start by answering the questions I posed earlier, and in
order to do so, I needed to access the raw log files for the Hibiscus website.
I opened up the log files, searched for the particular IPs in question, and found a series of entries such as these:
2006-03-11 03:47:34 66.154.103.125 - 216.89.218.168 80 GET /robots.txt - 200 0 400 285 78 HTTP/1.0 www.hibiscusflorals.com Gigabot/2.0/gigablast.com/spider.html -
2006-03-11 03:47:34 66.154.103.119 - 216.89.218.168 80 GET /larger_image.asp PID=215 200 0 0 299 125 HTTP/1.0 www.hibiscusflorals.com Gigabot/2.0/gigablast.com/spider.html -
2006-03-11 03:50:37 66.154.103.119 - 216.89.218.168 80 GET /larger_image.asp PID=195 200 0 0 299 31 HTTP/1.0 www.hibiscusflorals.com Gigabot/2.0/gigablast.com/spider.html -
2006-03-11 07:47:05 66.154.103.125 - 216.89.218.168 80 GET /robots.txt - 200 0 400 285 78 HTTP/1.0 www.hibiscusflorals.com Gigabot/2.0/gigablast.com/spider.html -
2006-03-11 07:47:05 66.154.103.119 - 216.89.218.168 80 GET /larger_image.asp PID=219 200 0 0 299 109 HTTP/1.0 www.hibiscusflorals.com Gigabot/2.0/gigablast.com/spider.html
The spider in this case actually belongs to a search engine called Gigablast, and is appropriately named the Gigabot. The Gigabot only crawled pages and files as other search engines have, and made no attempts whatsoever to access files and scripts of a known malicious nature.
Gigablast is a "Tier 2" search engine that has over 1,000,000,000 pages indexed as of the date of this article (March 13, 2006.) While it is not on the same level in terms of popularity as the Big 3 of Yahoo!, MSN, and Google, it has indexed a significantly large portion of the web, and can be useful for some searches. In particular, Gigablast has implemented a "Giga bits" feature whereby alternate searches are suggested based on the user's original query in order to help narrow the query down and provide greater relevancy.
I conducted additional research and discovered that some IP addresses from the 66.154.* IP block do resolve to gigablast.com e.g.:
66.154.102.46
66.154.102.10
66.154.103.50
Conclusion - The Gigabot is Safe
As you may well have gathered by now, the Gigabot is a perfectly safe spider that acts and operates in the same manner as other search engine spiders operate. There is no reason at this time to block the 66.154.* IP range that the bot uses; if anything, webmasters would gain from the potential free traffic that Gigablast would generate for their websites as the result of the Gigabot's efforts.
About the Author:
Adam Senour is the owner of ADAM Web Design, a leading web design and development company in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Visit http://www.adamwebdesign.ca for more information on ADAM Web Design products and services.
|